Center Grove Awards for 2009-10

Victoria Sluka, a sophomore at Center Grove High School - First Place in the 2010 Central Indiana Regional Science and Engineering Fair 
CGHS Student Council – 2010 National Gold Council of Excellence Award by the National Association of Student Councils
Center Grove High School Choral Department
     CG Singers (Concert Choir) - 2010 FAME Orlando National Grand Champions
     Debtones (Women's Show Choir) - 2010 FAME Orlando National Grand Champions
     CG Sound System (Mixed Show Choir) - 2010 FAME Orlando National 1st Runner-up
CGHS Instrumental Music
     Indoor Percussion and Winter Guard – 2010 WGI World Championship Finalists
     Marching Band – Bands of A Grand National Finalist and Class AAA National Champions
     Jazz Band – ISSMA Gold  Rating
     Wind Ensemble – ISSMA Gold Rating
     Symphonic Band – ISSMA Gold Rating
     Allegro/Bravura Band – ISSMA Gold Rating
The Scholastic Art & Writing National Awards (New York)
     Kelsey Hart - American Vision Gold Medal in Visual Arts
     Robert Smith - Gold Medal in Visual Arts
High School Athletics 
Emma Schoettmer, Swimming (100 Breaststroke) - State Champion
Austin Mudd, Track (800 meter run) - State Champion
Allie Day, Swimming (100 Backstroke) - State Runner-up
Nick Stoner, Track (100 meter dash) - State Runner-up
CGHS Boys' Tennis - Semi-State Championship
CGHS Girls' Tennis - Semi-State Championship
CGHS Football Team – 5A Regional Championship 
CGHS Girls' Soccer - Regional Championship
CGHS Girls' Volleyball - Regional Championship
Tori Schoettmer, Cross Country - Regional Champion
Anthony Schoettle, Wrestling - Regional Champion
Matt Milton, Wrestling - Regional Champion
Sean Mappes, Wrestling - Regional Champion
Sydney Clute, Track (Pole Vault) - Regional Champion
14 All-State Athletes
Teachers and Administrators 
Jeff Peterson – IPL Golden Apple Award Winner
Deb McClurg - Indiana Volleyball Coach of the Year
Jim Todd - Indiana Girls' Swimming Coach of the Year
Debby Burton - CGCSC Teacher of the Year; Indiana Girls' Tennis Coach of the Year
Russ Milligan - Indiana Softball Hall of Fame Inductee
Esther Kovacs, John Voelz, and Dana Bowling - Lilly Teacher Creativity Fellowship $8,000 Grant Winners
Amy Fix - Indiana Shull Advisor of the Year Award (Indiana Association of Student Councils)
Jackie Fowler and Nancy Shake - The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards Gold Medal Teachers
Matt Shockley - Indiana High School Principal of the Year
CGHS – Indiana Chamber of Commerce Best Buys List
2009 Four Star Schools – CGES, MGES, PGES, SGES, and CGMSN

Center Grove Awards for 2008-09  

2009 National Merit Scholar Finalists:  McKenzie Weeks, Zachary Stallard, Aaron Cox, and Brian Devault.
WTHR Brain Game Champions 2009
Women’s Press Club of Indiana award winners: 
• Nathan Pace - 2nd Place in Sports Writing
• Kevin Gottlieb - 2nd Place in Opinion Writing
• Jeanette Wall - 1st Place in Review Writing
CGHS Business Professionals of America State Qualifiers:
John Allie – 1st Place, Legal Office Procedures
Lindsay Caron – 4th Place, Legal Office Procedures
Mark Canner – 1st Place, Java Programming; 2nd Place, C++ Programming
Matt Misner – 1st Place, C++ Programming; 3rd Place in Fundamentals of XHTML programming
Anna Lenkey – 1st Place, Advanced Accounting
Nikki Sharma – 4th Place, Extemporaneous Speech; 6th Place, Financial Math Analysis
Ashley Burns, 4th Grade CGES - $200 Art Award (to CGES) from the Indiana Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission
High School Athletics
CGHS Football Team – 5A State Championship 
CGHS Men’s Tennis Team – 5A State Championship
Sarah Higgens – Cross Country State Champion
CGHS Boys Volleyball Team - 5A State Championship
CGHS Girls Softball 4A State Championship
Administration and Teachers
Jeff Peterson – Indiana Computer Educators Teacher of the Year
Dr. Steven Stephanoff – Top 10 Tech Savvy Superintendent (eSchool News)
CGMSC – National Blue Ribbon School Nominee
CGHS – Head of the Class on the Indiana Chamber of Commerce Best Buys List
2008 Four Star Schools – CGES, PGES, SGES, WGES and CGHS
CGHS – Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) designation.  CGHS is one of 60 schools from 14 states recognized for making an exemplary commitment to comprehensive school counseling programs by American School Counselor Association (ASCA).

Center Grove Awards for 2007-08                                                                

Center Grove Elementary named exemplary school for NCLB, 2007-2008.
Center Grove High School boasts a nationally ranked academic team.  This team was undefeated in the Quiz Bowl  and  was season champion winning the the League Tourney. In addition, the team won the Indiana Quiz Bowl (state tourney) and qualified for the national competition.
Katelyn Bird, senior,  (Center Grove High School) wins National Merit Scholarship.
Jeanette Wall,  Indiana Women's Press Club annual competition -- 1st place in Review Writing:  Kevin Gottlieb, 2nd place in Opinion Writing:  Nathan Pace, 2nd place in Sports Writing.
Jeanette Wall. National Scholastic Press Association/Journalism Education Association's Fall National Convention received an Excellent in Review Writing.
Student Organizations
Center Grove High School Student Council named 2008 National Council of Excellence.
National Award Winning Choirs -
CG Sound System national titles: '91, '95, '03, '04, '05, '06, '07, '08
Debtones national titles: '04, '05, '06, '07, '08
CG Singers national titles: '06, '07, '08
Girls Soccer Semi-State Champions
MIC Team Champions - Boys Tennis, Football, Gymnastics
Three Individual State Champions
Katelyn Fernandez, Gymnastics, Vault
Michelle McKeehan, 200 Individual Media (new state record) and 100 Breaststroke (new state record)
Matt Smith & Zane Smith:  Doubles Tennis
Marcia Boehning, media specialist  and Joe Shimp, MSN orchestra teacher  win $2000 Best Buy grants.
Connie Diaz is the Indiana History Teacher of the Year
Last Modified on September 26, 2011