Young Hoosier Books


    The purpose of the Young Hoosier Book Award Program is to promote pleasure reading for students by allowing students to vote for their favorite books. Media professionals hoped that more students could be motivated to read more newly published books. Each year committee members select 20 nominees for each category (picture book, intermediate, middle grades) from titles suggested by teachers, students, parents, public librarians, and media specialists. Books must meet certain guidelines to be eligible for consideration. The author of a nominated book must be living and currently residing in the US. The book must have been pubished within the last five years. The book must be in print at the time of selection. The book cannot be a previous nominee and the book cannot be a Caldecott or Newberry Medal winner. This year's nominees are: 

    All's Faire in Middle School  by Victoria Jamieson

    Ashes to Asheville  by Sarah Dooley

    Beautiful Blue World by Suzanne LaFleur

    Braced by Alyson Gerber

    Exo by Fonda Lee

    Forget Me Not by Ellie Terry

    Greetings From Witness Protection by Jake Burt

    Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dustie Bowling

    Miles Morales by Jason Reynolds

    The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street by Lindsay Currie

    Playing Atari With Saddam Hussein  by Jennifer Roy with Ali Fadhil

    Refugee by Alan Gratz

    Renegades by Marissa Meyer

    Scar Island by Dan Gemeinhart

    The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade  by Jordan Sonnenblick

    The Shadow Cipher by Laura Ruby

    The Someday Birds by Sally J. Pla

    The Stars Beneath Our Feet by David Barclay Moore

    They Lost Their Heads by Carlyn Beccia

    Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith



















Last Modified on August 2, 2019