Skip To Main Content

National Merit Scholars 2013


2013 National Merit Finalists

Center Grove Community School Corporation is celebrating a record number of students to be named National Merit Finalists. Eight Center Grove High School students have been named finalists by the National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSC). This year’s class of finalists is the largest in school history.

The students are among about 15,000 finalists nationwide who represent less than one percent of students who took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Finalists will go on to compete for about 8,300 National Merit Scholarships, which will be announced in April.

The National Merit Finalists in Center Grove this year are: Lydia Furrow, Catherine Sembroski, Hunter Haskell, Jacob Stallard, Abigail Long, Damon Webb, Katherine Roeder, and Marcus Wesley.

To become a finalist, the student and their high school must submit a detailed application and provide information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, and honors and awards received.

Furthermore, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test, according to a press release form NMSC.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

The CGCSC Board of School Trustees will honor the finalists at their March 21 regular board meeting.

For more information on the National Merit Scholarship Program, visit them online at


Center Grove High School is proud to announce its National Merit Semifinalist Students: Lydia Furrow, Hunter Haskell, Abigail Long, Katherine Roeder, Catherine Sembroski, Jacob Stallard, Damon Webb, and Marcus Wesley. These students are a part of an elite group of approximately 16,000 students nationwide that earned this designation by taking the 2011Preliminary SAT/ National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year. These students will now progress in the National Merit Scholarship Competition.