Return to Headlines

Eleven Center Grove High School seniors named National Merit Semifinalists

Eleven Center Grove High School seniors were named Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. They are Vinay Bhamidipat, Carter Dills, Philip Golder, Olivia Gooch, Sophia Hagedorn, Jenna Hans, Graham Kanwit, Jacob Miller, Anna Puderbaugh, Joseph Sargent, and Joshua Stevenson.
Approximately 16,000 Semifinalists were chosen from the highest scorers in each state for the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. 
To become a Finalist, the Semifinalists and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, which includes information about the students' academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.