National Merit Scholarship Program names 7 CGHS seniors as Finalists

2021 National Merit Finalists

Top: Rahul Appaji, Taylor Jarosinski, Christina Monev, Bryce Rayner
Bottom: Connor Roach, Jacob Tallman, Saphna Vyas

(February 15, 2021) - Seven Center Grove High School seniors were named Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. They are Rahul Appaji, Taylor M. Jarosinski, Christina M. Monev, Bryce W. Rayner, Conor A. Roach, Jacob H. Tallman, Sapna S. Vyas.

Approximately 15,000 Finalists were chosen from the highest scorers in each state for the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered this spring. The nationwide pool of Finalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

From the approximately 15,000 Finalists, about 7,600 will receive a Merit Scholarship. All winners of Merit Scholarship awards are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments—without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference. A variety of information is available for NMSC to evaluate: The Finalist's academic record, information about the school's curriculum and grading system, PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index score, the high school official's written recommendation, information about the student's activities and leadership, and the Finalist's own essay.

There are three types of Merit Scholarships offered: 2,500 National Merit $2500 Scholarships, 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards, and 4,100 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards. Beginning in March and continuing to mid-June, NMSC notifies approximately these Finalists that they have been selected to receive a Merit Scholarship award.