Center Grove announces 2022-23 CGCSC Teacher of the Year, Legacy Award Winners

Courtney Hess

(May 11, 2023) - Center Grove awarded Courtney Hess from Sugar Grove Elementary the 2022-23 Teacher of Year during the district’s annual Teacher Celebration on Wednesday, May 10. Mrs. Hess is a Kindergarten teacher at Sugar Grove Elementary School. She has been a teacher for 15 years, eight of which have been at Center Grove. “I am humbled and honored to be recognized as an exemplar teacher in a school district that goes above and beyond to do what is best for our students every day.” said Hess. “Teaching the whole child fuels my soul and I will be forever grateful for this recognition..”

As Teacher of the Year, Hess will receive $1,000, courtesy of Wallman Financial, LLC to spend in her classroom. She will represent Center Grove in the Indiana Teacher of the Year competition.

Center Grove honored 81 current, former, and retired teachers with Legacy Awards. Center Grove High School seniors nominate the teacher they believe had the greatest impact on them during their time in Center Grove schools. Winners are listed below. Additional information about the award winners and photo galleries from the evening are available at



Center Grove Elementary School

Deborah Harty*

Jena Kennedy

Roberta Petersen

Johnny Dustin Russell**

Rebekah Smith

Jennifer Taylor

Teresa West*

Peggy Young


Maple Grove Elementary School

Carrie Dilley**

Bernard Doyle

Edward Gunner Erwin**

Shaun Farmer

Ronnie Hobson*

Elizabeth Leavitt

Sarah Lux**

LaRenda Peterson


North Grove Elementary School

Timothy Dooms**

Amanda Gainey

Luann Luck

Joyce Rogers


Pleasant Grove Elementary School

Jennifer Fields

Natalie Hollenkamp**

Victoria House*

Nicole Montfort**

Kathryn Nikou

Heather Trammell


Sugar Grove Elementary School

Susan Dotson*

Jason Mueller +

Jonathan Rugenstein**

Jill Schoch*

Jessica Shanafelt

Harold (Doug) Wooton*


Walnut Grove Elementary School

Jennifer Ridens


CG Middle School Central

Dan Andersen

Anthony Bell

Paula Boas

Amy Daugherty

Jennifer Ferguson

Kevin Gaughan

John (Will) Hibner

Brandon Painter

Susan Porter*

Olivia Preston

Gary Robinson*

Christopher Shadday

Heather Storey**

Lindsey Wissel

Jamie Wingler


CG Middle School North

Jacob Burskey**

Pamela Calvert

Andrew Krummen**

Martin (Mitch) McCoy**

Andrew McRoberts

Keenan Plew

Jacinda Reardon

Denise Sedgwick

Richard Shimp

Dan Stier*

Alicia Whitehead

Kyle Widbin

Margaret (Meg) Witt*

Audra Wood


Center Grove High School

Erin Barker

Jeffrey Buckmaster

Bradford Buskirk

Michelle Carter

Katie DeArmitt

Summer Ehresman

Karen Fruits

Eric Howe

Andrew Kominowski

Jaime Lidy

Nicholas Lyon

Séverine McClellan

Lesley McDougal

Danielle Myers

Jared Norman

Toby Rumple

Joshua Surface

Jessica Thomas

Josh Torres