Center Grove High School seniors earn college degrees, certificates

Center Grove High School Early College Graduation 2023

(May 23, 2023) - Center Grove High School (CGHS) honored 122 seniors for earning college degrees or certificates through the school’s Early College (EC) program during a ceremony on Monday, May 22, 2023. Through the EC program, students can take courses that earn credit toward both high school and college at the same time. Center Grove High School’s commencement ceremony is scheduled for Sunday, June 4 at 2:00 p.m. in the CGHS Vandermeer Gymnasium. “We are so proud of the Early College class of 2023. Starting their high school career during a pandemic created unique challenges that they have proudly overcome,” said Tracy McMahen, CGHS assistant principal and director of Early College. “Their resilience, determination, and unwavering spirit have guided them to the successes that they have earned while at CGHS. They have laughed together, learned together, and supported one another through the highs and lows. We are so excited to see where the future takes these amazing students. We know the sky is the limit!”

Sixty-two EC seniors will receive an associate degree in General Studies from Vincennes University, along with their high school diploma. Forty-one of those seniors have earned college honors. Fifty-two students will receive a 30-hour Indiana College Core certificate, which means they have met all requirements for general education courses at all state universities in Indiana. Every member of this year’s class of 122 earned more than 15 college credits. In total, this year’s EC seniors earned 6,579 college credit hours.

The Early College program is open to all CGHS students. Students are selected for the program based on their reading level, grades, and recommendations. The program admits approximately 110 students per year. Students take all of their core classes with the EC faculty and other EC students in a small learning community. This structure increases collaboration between faculty and leads to increased accountability and attention to students.

Owen Baker*

Amelia Harrigan*

Bre'Anna Redden*

Ethan Benoit*

Madison Harrigan*

Sarah Redden

Ainsley Blazek*

Elijah Hatfield*

Kaleigh Rice*

Kayla Briant

Harrison Hite

Jarret Rockwell

Emilia Brown*

Raegan Hommel*

Grant Sawa*

Mya Brown*

Alexia Hoskins*

Kendra Shirrell*

Logan Buckmaster*

Tyler House*

Eyler Slater*

Kaysen Chapman*

Cole Hyzer

Victoria St Louis

Connor Conkin*

Conner Inman*

Meghan Stanley

Rosalyn Cranney*

Grace Ison

James Studebaker*

Kristina Cutsinger*

Eliza LaFavers*

Bawi Thang*

Emma Dortch*

Lauren LePage*

Carson Vlcan*

Hope Eberwine*

Ryan Mang

Lindsey Walker*

Jacob Ellis

Sarah McKinney

Julianna Weems

Ariel Emberton*

Matthew McRoberts

Aina Williams

James Feitl*

Garrett Messer*

Kolyn Wright*

Isabelle Felke*

Megan Minnemann*

Owen Wright

Dru Franklin

Megan Morgan

Michael Young

Elizabeth Gettum*

Zane Patterson*

Michael Yurs

Bradley Gilliam*

Lillian Peterson

Evan Zapp*

Madison Gradert*

Joshua Powell

* Denotes honors